Our Governors

Governors are volunteers who work closely with the Head teacher and the school’s senior leadership team to ensure that the school provides the best possible education for all children. Governors are generally parents, professionals and members of the community from all backgrounds, who bring varied skills and experience to support the leadership of the school.

The Governing Body focuses on three core functions:

  • To ensure the school has a clear vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • To hold the Head teacher to account for the school’s educational performance, and the performance management of staff.
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and ensure its money is well spent.

The Governors do not get involved in the day to day running of the school or in how the school is managed, but are there as support to the Head Teacher and senior leaders in promoting high standards of education, welfare and spiritual wellbeing of all our pupils.

We work as a team alongside the Head Teacher and senior leaders to promote and support the success of the school. We act as a “Critical Friend” helping to ensure high standards are maintained and that all of our children remain happy and healthy whilst making outstanding educational progress.

The Governors meet on a regular basis in the form of two committees focussing on the curriculum, school development, admissions, finance, safeguarding, personnel and premises. The full Governing Body meets each term to discuss outstanding issues from the committees and to receive feedback from the Head Teacher and senior leaders regarding the progress of the school.

In addition to this, individual Governors are linked with various aspects of the work of the school and meet periodically with school staff to monitor and promote progress towards targets. Whenever possible, Governors support staff and pupils by attending the many events that take place during the course of the year.

Full List of Governing Body Membership

  Governor Type Name and Contact Details Term End Date
  Clerk Matthew Maltby  
Chair Smyth Harper
chair2@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk
14/12/2022
Vice Chair of Governors Lorna Holden
l.holden@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk
03/12/2022
Head Teacher

Rachael Farnell-Hill
head@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk

 
  Staff Governor Tom Currie
t.currie@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk
19/12/2021
  Local Authority Governor

Dharmila Khimani
d.khimani@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk

22/10/2022
Co-opted Governor Lee Davies
l.davies@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk
22/02/2024
Co-opted Governor Rev. Eddie Roberts
e.roberts@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk
11/07/2023
  Parent Governor Vacancy  
  Parent Governor Vacancy  
 

Associate Governor
Deputy Head Teacher

Rachael Hawcroft
r.hawcroft@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk

 
 

Associate Governor
Deputy Head Teacher

Andy Morris
a.morris@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk

 
 

Associate Governor
Deputy Head Teacher

Julie McKeever
j.mckeever@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk

 

We are currently recruiting parent governors if you are interested please contact school at admin@pikefold.manchester.sch.uk for more information.

Committee Membership

Finance and Facilities Committee Pupils, People and Performance Committee

Rachael Farnell-Hill

Dharmila Khimani

Rev. Eddie Roberts

Rachael Farnell-Hill

Tom Currie

Lee Davies

Smyth Harper

Lorna Holden

 

Files to Download

Other pages

Find Us:

Pike Fold Primary School

Old Market Street, Blackley, M9 8QP

0161 702 3669

Student Login

STAFF LOGIN
PARENT LOGIN
SCHOOL BLOGS