EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The EYFS is the framework for learning for children from Birth to 5 years old.  Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.  The early years is where our children begin to develop their skills, knowledge and understanding, creating a firm foundation for learning which they build upon as they move up the school. Our children are nurtured and supported to develop the characteristics of effective learning: playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development:

Prime areas: 

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language- Speaking, Listening & Understanding 
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy- Reading and Writing
  • Mathematics-  Number and Shape, Space  & Measure
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 

The teachers across the early years provide a stimulating and enriching learning environment inclusive of all children, where they can explore, experiment and create through well planned, play based activities and experiences which reflect their diverse needs and interests in partnership with parents and carers.

Files to Download

Find Us:

Pike Fold Primary School

Old Market Street, Blackley, M9 8QP

0161 702 3669

Student Login